Girl in a Basement

Week 2 of NaNoWriMo is behind me, but I’m only about 18,500 words in, far short of the 30,000 words I should be closing in on at this point in time.

Any suggestions as to how to deal with a case of writer’s block?

Here’s the thing – I know exactly where I want my story to go. I have an outline, for gosh sakes; I’ve found I work best when I have an outline of some kind.

I just can’t get the words out.

I know the best remedy would be to just write. As Anne Lamott says, feel free to write SFDs (Shitty First Drafts). I intend to, because I know that’s what it’s supposed to be at first. I’m not afraid to write horribly, I can clean it all up in editing and revising.

But I just can’t get any words to come out. I can’t seem…

View original post 36 more words

